TUBE FEEDING THE DYING PATIENT

A doctor’s eloquent take on why tube feeding is a nightmare both for the dying patient and for their loved ones: http://well.blogs.nytimes.com/2014/08/21/food-and-the-dying-patient/

If you’re not swayed by the doctor’s opinion, I strongly suggest that you read the comments at the end of this article.

May all benefit.

About surfingon

I live in Hawaii. I surf in the winter and swim in the summer. I have been a hospice volunteer with a contemplative-care oriented hospice for 34 years have been part of their team that trains new volunteers for the last 18 years. I have walked the colon cancer path with my beloved husband these past 5 years. He died very peacefully in April 2009. I now seek to share what we learned, to shed light on the many dark corners of this often mystifying, heartbreaking and heart-opening journey.
This entry was posted in end of life. Bookmark the permalink.